March 1, 2024

East Central Community College in Decatur inducted 100 students into the Theta Xi chapter of Phi Theta Kappa on Tuesday, February 27, 2024, in Huff Auditorium.   
Established by Missouri two-year college presidents in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership, and service programming. Today Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 2.5 million members and 1,275 chapters located in 50 United States, U.S. Territories, Canada, Germany, Peru, the British Virgin Islands, the Republic of Palau, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands and the United Arab Emirates. In 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges. The PTK national headquarters is in Jackson.   
The ceremony began with an invocation from PTK President, Jennings Fulton, before ECCC President, Dr. Brent Gregory gave opening remarks. Vice President for Student Services, James Miller recognized the Theta Xi officers, and the officers inducted the new members with a candlelight ceremony. Advisors Renee Boggan and Dr. Amanda Walton welcomed the new members with remarks before Executive Vice President David Case concluded the program with remarks.  
New members include:  
Acapuloco de Juarez, CA: Maximo Estrada Avila 
Athens, AL: Raegan Kelley 
Batesville: David Hubbard 
Brandon: Langston Cotten 
Carthage: Emery Carpenter, Morgan Freeny, Giovanna Grayson, CeeJay Howard, Mckinley Peoples, Alana Shuler, and Mckenzie Smith 
Collinsville: Maria Howell and Joseph Nance 
Conehatta: Isabella Wolverton 
Decatur: Erica Ables, Lexi Beckham, Megan Beech, Amber Bynum, Zivko Damjanovic, Ashley Head, Josi Johnson, and Kylee Strait 
Florence: Kaitlyn Jones 
Forest: Vanessa Ayala Saldana, Emma Boles, Levi Boles, Aundraya Ealy, Jose Garcia Torres, John Johnston, Charles Powell, Ronaldo Suarez Brunet, and Jason Tillman 
Greenville: Carson Graham and Donnie Smith 
Gulfport: Julian McCord and Conner McNab 
Hattiesburg: Anna Garretson and Randarius Mclaughlin 
Hickory: Angel Valentine and Carlee Williams 
Hill AFB, UT: Luke Rudolphi 
Kosciusko: Emma Rhodes 
Lena: Maggie Alexander, Jacob Brown, and Anna Sturdivant 
Little Rock: Molly Crosby 
Louisville, Tanner Childs and Dallas Dixon 
Lumberton: Cassidy Wines 
Manchester, UK: Eva Craney-Barnie 
Mandeville, LA: Evan Folse 
Meridian: Gabriel Brinson, Brooke Gibson, Laighton Higginbotham, and Katie Smith 
Montreal, Canada: Anthony Cruz 
Morton: Hudson Bynum, Meyli Reyes Lopez, Hugo Salazar Cabrera, Dylan Thompson, Harley Windham, and Aiden Boyd 
Moss Point: Eli Smith and Allie Trager 
Nesbit: Kasey Canizaro 
Newton: Neil Garner 
Pachula: Kylee Dewitt 
Petal: Ka’davion Smith 
Philadelphia: Ali Cheatham, Mallory Duke, Brittany Dunn, Kera Easley, Jonah Guy, Dalton Powell, and Miriam Prince 
Prattville, AL: Sarah Jones 
Preston: Melanie Ugalde 
Puero Armuelles: Marbin Lezcano 
Pulaski: Jacob Lawrence 
Quitman: Sydney Myrick 
Roxie: Georgia Martin 
Sydney, Aust.: Kai Suchet-Pearson 
Taylorsville: Kylee Moore and Emma Rankin 
Union: Spencer Benson, Michael Berryhill, Julia Espinoza, Coley Herrington, Jacob Howell, Matthew Lott, Andrea McMahan, Destiny Petty, Kamryn Robinson, Bankston Rush, Morgan Shaw, and Lois Sullivan 
Vancleave: Saige Kirkbride 
Vicksburg: Kayleigh Karel 
Walnut Grove: Andrew Chisolm 
Yazoo: Macee Dunn