April 6, 2023

Six new inductees will join the East Central Community College Student Hall of Fame during the annual Awards Ceremony scheduled at 3 p.m. Thursday, April 20, in Huff Auditorium on the Decatur campus. 

Various academic, career, technical, healthcare and other special awards will also be presented. The event is free and open to the public. 

The newest Hall of Fame members and their respective hometowns and high schools include Jocey Bell of Forest and Scott Central High School; Annsley McMahan of Union, who was home-schooled; Kim Salvador of Carthage and Leake Central High School; Myla Sanders of Lake and Lake Attendance Center; Eden Smith of Quitman and Enterprise High School; and Reagan Tolbird of Hickory and Newton County High School. 

Selection to the Hall of Fame is considered the highest honor a student can receive at the college. Among the criteria used by those selecting Hall of Fame recipients are exemplary character, superior scholarship, worthy leadership, and contributions to the betterment of East Central Community College. 

“East Central Community College is in a fortunate position to always have so many outstanding students that the selection process of our six Hall of Fame members is very challenging,” said ECCC President Dr. Brent Gregory. “These individuals that rose to the top of a group of great nominees show that they are exceptional students in a variety of ways. We are excited and proud to be inducting them into this prestigious group on April 20.”  

Jocey Bell, an elementary education major, is the daughter of Greg and Tammy Bell. She is a sophomore class officer, captain of the color guard, president of Warrior Corps, a member of Phi Theta Kappa, the Collegians, winter guard, and the President’s Council. She also received sophomore homecoming maid, freshman class favorite honors and received the Myrtle R. Hutchison Elementary Education Scholarship.  

Those nominating her said: “Jocey is a prime example of a student who upholds all of ECCC’s ideals. She is a team player, has a positive attitude, and is highly involved, all while maintaining a strong academic standing.” 

Annsley McMahan, a liberal arts major, is the daughter of Keith and Tracie McMahan. She serves on the Baptist Student Union leadership council, vice president of Phi Theta Kappa honor society, secretary of the President’s Council, president of Vocé vocal ensemble, and member of the Concert Choir, Students for Life, and Warrior Corps. She is a President’s List scholar and was selected freshman class favorite. 

Those nominating her said, “Annsley is an excellent student. She has been very involved with campus life and demonstrated leadership by serving as an officer in several organizations. However, her most impressive qualities are her cheerful outlook, pleasant personality, and servant’s heart.” 

Kim Salvador, a pre-medicine major, is the daughter of Everilda Juarez. She serves as sophomore class treasurer and is a member of Phi Theta Kappa honor society, Sigma Sigma Mu Tau, Phi Beta Lambda, Warrior Corps, Jazz Band, Concert Band, and the Color Guard. A President’s List scholar, she received second-place honors in Phi Beta Lambda’s hospitality management and integrated marketing campaign competitions. 

Those nominating her said, “Kim is a dedicated and active student at East Central. She holds herself to a high standard and is always available to help anyone who needs it. She works very hard towards her goals and is a kind, outgoing person.” 

Myla Sanders, a surgical technology major who graduated in December, is the daughter of Randy and Kathy Sanders. She served as president of the Gospel Choir, president of the EC Surgical Technology Student Association, secretary of Phi Theta Kappa, and was a member of the President’s Council and Warrior Corps. A Dean’s List Scholar, she was named to the 2021-22 Phi Theta Kappa All-Mississippi Academic Team, received the Trustmark Workforce Development Scholarship and Gospel Choir award. 

Those nominating her said, “Myla Sanders is the epitome of a model student/servant. She has excelled in and out of the classroom. Myla has demonstrated integrity and achievement through leadership activities, community involvement, participation in campus life and even her family and church life. Myla is so deserving of this great honor.” 

Eden Smith, a biological sciences major, is the daughter of Lynne Smith and Gregory Smith. She serves as vice president of Sigma Sigma Mu Tau and is a member of the Centralettes dance line, Diamond Darlings, Phi Theta Kappa honor society, and Warrior Corps. A President’s List Scholar, she received the Freshman Mathematics Award, Frank Edwin and Nena Holt Leatherwood Scholarship, and Dr. Shelby L. Harris Memorial Scholarship.  

Those nominating her said, “Eden Smith is an example of the characteristics and qualities that make East Central Community College the great place that it is. She is consistently dedicated to her studies and always puts forth the effort to attain her goals. In addition to this, she makes sure to keep herself involved in extracurricular activities outside of class, and always treats others with kindness.” 

Reagan Tolbird, a pre-medicine/audiology major, is the daughter of Shawn Tolbird. She serves as captain of the Centralettes dance line, vice president of leadership for Phi Theta Kappa honor society, vice president of the Student Body Association, and is a member of Warrior Corps Student Ambassadors. A President’s List scholar, she received the Ann H. Burkes Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship and Shirley Renaud Memorial Scholarship. 

Those nominating her said, “She is a dedicated student that makes sure to involve herself in multiple activities on campus. She’s a good leader and always has a positive attitude towards anyone she sees on campus.” 

In addition to recognition during Awards Day, photos of the six new inductees will hang in the Hall of Fame Collection in the lobby of Huff Auditorium.