July 22, 2022

Graduates of East Central Community College’s Cosmetology Program received special recognition during a ceremony held July 22 in the Vickers Fine Arts Center Auditorium on the Decatur campus. Students who completed the 12-month program and their respective hometowns include (first row, from left) Brianna Young of Louisville, Anh Nguyen of Union, Maggie Mann of Decatur, Makayla Wash of Newton, and Tayler Cochran of Decatur; (second row, from left) Allison Lepard of Sebastopol, Hannah Myers of Brandon, Kaitlyn Irwin of Decatur, Asten Russell of Little Rock, Karise Parkman of Lake, and Kelsey Pegram of Union; and (back row, from left) Kayleigh Long of Philadelphia, Sanaa Merrell of Philadelphia, Asheley Clark of Forest, Cherie Stewart of Carthage, and Kadyn Townsend of Meridian. Cochran was selected Cosmetology Student of the Year and gave the address to graduates. ECCC’s cosmetology program prepares students to become licensed cosmetologists and has the approval of the Mississippi State Board of Education and the Mississippi Board of Cosmetology, along with the support and approval of beauty salon owners and operators throughout the state. Students complete 1,500 clock hours of training during the yearlong program.