March 13, 2019

ECCC Phi Beta Lambda students receiving awards during the State Leadership Conference included (front row, from left) Caleb McGrew of Meridian, and Barbara Bobo, Shelby Greenwood and Hannah Stokes, all of Philadelphia; (second row, from left) James Van Fleet of Forest, Camilla Addy of Decatur, and Beth Fortner of Port Gibson; (third row, from left) Jerry Davidson of Philadelphia, Lexi Rover of Little Rock and Sam Loper of Philadelphia; and (back row, from left) Daniel Triplett of Preston, Jacob Plaisance of Union, Tucker Cain of Carthage, and Justin Wilcher of Philadelphia.  (Submitted Photo)

Fourteen members of East Central Community College’s Theta Chi Chapter of Phi Beta Lambda participated in the 2019 State Leadership Conference and all placed first in their respective events, which qualified them for national competition scheduled in June in San Antonio, Texas. The state conference was held at Mississippi University for Women in Columbus.

Theta Chi also received first place in raising funds for the March of Dimes, received Foundation Recognition and was recognized as a Gold Seal Chapter.

Individual recognition was given to Justin Wilcher of Philadelphia, who was elected state PBL president and also received the Rufus T. Jones Scholarship, and Hanna Stokes of Philadelphia, who was elected state PBL parliamentarian.

Wilcher was also recognized as the outgoing state vice president and Sam Loper of Philadelphia was recognized as the outgoing state parliamentarian.

Inducted into the Mississippi Phi Beta Lambda Hall of Fame in recognition of a first place awards at the 2018 National Leadership Conference were Samantha McMullan of Decatur, Jackie Cates of Newton, and Nicole Ferguson, Khalil Triplett, Shelby Greenwood, Loper and Wilcher, all of Philadelphia.

State award winners include Jerry Davidson of Philadelphia  and Daniel Triplett of Preston, first place, local chapter annual business report; Caleb McGrew of Meridian, first place, business sustainability; Davidson, Triplett and James Van Fleet of Forest, first place, computer animation; Lexi Rover of Little Rock and Tucker Cain of Carthage, first place, community service; Barbara Bobo of Philadelphia, Loper and Wilcher, first place, financial services; Wilcher, Cain, Greenwood, Rover and Stokes, first place, parliamentary procedures; Beth Fortner of Port Gibson, first place, public speaking; Greenwood and Stokes, first place, integrated marketing campaign; Beth Fortner and Camilla Addy of Decatur, first place, social media campaign; and Jacob Plaisance of Union, Addy and Van Fleet, first place, strategic analysis.

Christy Ferguson, Thomas Fortenberry, Judy Hurtt and Bobby Hebert serve as advisors.