Several East Central Community College student-athletes received state and national recognition for academic performance during the 2015-16 academic year on the Decatur campus.

In all, 65 ECCC student-athletes were recognized by the National Junior College Athletic Association, the Mississippi Association of Community and Junior Colleges, or both organizations.

The NJCAA presents awards in three categories: NJCAA Pinnacle Award for Academic Excellence (for those achieving a perfect 4.0 grade-point average); NJCAA Award for Superior Academic Achievement (3.79 to 3.99 GPA); and NJCAA Award for Exemplary Academic Achievement (3.6 to 3.78 GPA).

Receiving the NJCAA Pinnacle Award for Academic Excellence were Blake Morton (baseball) of Madison, Carrissa Stevenson (women’s soccer) of Gulfport, Durham Norman (men’s soccer) of Florence, Gage Leifried (men’s soccer) of Meridian, Kellen Clark (men’s soccer) of Chunky, Kaitlyn Knuth (women’s soccer) of Collinsville, Pashien Kelley-Johnson (women’s soccer) of Diamondhead, Samantha McCrimon (women’s tennis) of Louisville, Samuel Thompson (men’s soccer) of Decatur, and Nathan Roseberry (baseball) of Purvis.

Receiving the NJCAA Award for Superior Academic Achievement were Baylee Green (softball) of Sebastopol, Brandon Clark (baseball) of Union, Brantlie Sheets (softball) of Louisville, Brittany Rasco (women’s soccer) of Pascagoula, Brooke Payne (women’s tennis) of Union, Chaney Mills (women’s tennis) of Hickory, Cole Prestegard (baseball) of Hampton Grove, Ala., Maggie Luke (women’s soccer) of Decatur, Elizabeth Frey (softball) of Purvis, Kaley Bufkin (women’s tennis) of Decatur, Katlyn Duke (softball) of Philadelphia, Lucas Orchard (football) of Vancleave, Maegen Ellis (softball) of West Point, Megan Parrish (women’s soccer) of Pascagoula, and Tyler Ladner (baseball) of Pass Christian.

Receiving the NJCAA Award for Exemplary Academic Achievement were Allie Turner (women’s soccer) of Horn Lake, Andi McCrimon (women’s tennis) of Louisville, Cole Duty (men’s tennis) of Louisville, Blake Paben (baseball) of Madison, Brandon Rodgers (men’s tennis) of Louisville, Caitlyn Aldous (softball) of Petal, Chloe Thaggard (softball) of Philadelphia, Emily Dykeman (women’s tennis) of Forest, Gabrielle Gross (women’s soccer) of Nesbit, Gabrielle Stapp (women’s soccer) of Saucier, Jacob Huff (baseball) of Brandon, Kayla Young (women’s soccer) of Olive Branch, Kenzie Jenkins (women’s soccer) of Florence, Lacey Field (women’s soccer) of Olive Branch, Lacey Hill (softball) of Kilbourne, La., Matt Mitchell (baseball) of Lake, Devin Skinner (men’s tennis) of Philadelphia, Nicholas Thomas (men’s soccer) of Southaven, Peyton Cain (baseball) of Hickory, Taylor Creighton (baseball) of Quitman, Richard Jacobson (men’s soccer) of Pascagoula, and Zachary Claycomb (football) of Flowood.

The academic honors presented to student-athletes on the state level include MACJC Distinguished Academic All-State (those earning a 3.8 to 4.0 GPA) and MACJC Academic All-State (3.25 to 3.79 GPA).

ECCC student-athletes receiving MACJC Distinguished Academic All-State were Kaley Bufkin, Kellen Clark, Katlyn Duke, Maegen Ellis, Pashien Kelly-Johnson, Durham Norman, Megan Parrish, Brooke Payne, Brittany Rasco, and Carrissa Stevenson.

Those receiving MACJC Academic All-State were Caitlyn Aldous, Kayla Anderson (women’s soccer) of Florence, Christian Bellew (baseball) of Gulfport, Peyton Cain, Taylor Creighton, Michael Davis (baseball) of Clinton, Cole Duty, Lacey Field, Mahalia Gibson (softball) of Hattiesburg, Erin Golden (women’s soccer) of Petal, Zack Hammons (golf) of Raleigh, Andi Hannaford (softball) of Senatobia, Lacey Hill, Jesse Hosket (football) of French Camp, Eddie Houston (football) of Newton, Johnta’ Hughes (women’s basketball) of Hattiesburg, Jacob Huff, Will Kennedy (baseball) of Union, Summer Lavender (softball) of Canton, Matt Mitchell, Cayla Myers (softball) of Magee, Nathan Nance (golf) of Decatur, Jelisa Pearson (women’s basketball) of Quitman, Devin Skinner, Dylan Snypes (baseball) of State Line, Gabrielle Stapp, Chloe Thaggard, Allie Turner, Channing Wall (baseball) of Louisville, and Megan Yarbrough (women’s soccer) of Olive Branch.