March 30, 2017

The East Central Community College men's and women's tennis teams recorded victories over Northwest Mississippi Community College in Senatobia Wednesday, March 29.

The ECCC women defeated Northwest 6-3 to improve to 6-7 on the season. The No. 17 ranked East Central men won 6-3 to improve their record to 9-4.

In men's doubles action against Northwest, the EC team of Tom Langelaar from Veldhoven, Netherlands, and Joseph Jabour of Warren Central High School defeated Joshua Stephenson/Adam Holley, 8-4; EC's John Jimenez of Oruro, Bolivia, and Will Stewart of Newton County High School defeated Zak Harbin/Dalton Young, 8-5; and EC's Brandon Rogers of Winston Academy and Willie Wooten out of Warren Central High School beat Xavier Curtis/Quentin Hutchinson, 8-1.

In singles play, EC's Wooten fell to Stephenson, 2-6, 5-7; EC's Jimenez defeated Harbin, 6-1, 6-1; EC's Jabour fell to Young, 4-6, 4-6; EC's Mark Stewart of Terry High School fell to Holley, 0-6, 0-6; EC's Rogers defeated Hutchinson, 6-1, 6-1; and EC's Graham Murphree out of Newton County High School beat Curtis, 6-0, 6-0.

In the women's doubles matches, EC's Tatiana Quinonez of Bogota, Columbia, and Julia Johnston of Florence High School beat Harlie Ray/Emily Blackmarr, 8-1; EC's Chaney Mills of Newton County High School and Andi McCrimon of Winston Academy fell to Piper Johnson/Kim Crider, 7-9; and EC's Samantha McCrimon of Winston Academy and Hannah Payne from Union High School beat Emily Newman/Emily Standard, 8-1.

In women's singles play, EC's Quinonez fell to Johnson, 5-7, 3-6; EC's Mills beat Ray, 6-3, 6-0; EC's Samantha McCrimon fell to Blackmarr, 4-6, 6-3 (4-10); EC's Andi McCrimon defeated Crider, 6-4, 6-0; EC's An Duong from Richland High School beat Newman, 6-3, 6-0; and EC's Emily Dykeman of Forest High School defeated Standard, 6-0, 6-2.

The East Central teams return home Wednesday, April 5, to face Copiah-Lincoln Community College at the ECCC Tennis Complex at 2 p.m., followed by Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College on Friday, April 7, at 2 p.m.